How much does Base44 cost?
A guide by Builddu, which makes one of the builders covered. We are not affiliated with Base44. Checked against their own documentation on 21 September 2026.
The short answer
Base44 has a free plan, four published paid plans and a custom Enterprise tier, billed in two kinds of credit. Both billing periods are shown per month, on the same terms.
| Plan | Month to month | Billed annually, per month | Message credits | Integration credits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | 25 a month, no more than 5 a day | 100 a month |
| Starter | $20 | $16 | 100 | 2,000 |
| Builder | $50 | $40 | 250 | 10,000 |
| Pro | $100 | $80 | 500 | 20,000 |
| Elite | $200 | $160 | 1,200 | 50,000 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | not publicly stated (as of 21 September 2026) | not publicly stated (as of 21 September 2026) |
- Free: Up to 5 apps. Custom domains start at Starter.
- Starter: Unlimited apps, in-app code edits, and connecting your own domain.
- Builder: Everything on Starter, plus AI model choice, a free domain for the first year on yearly billing, GitHub integration and 25 credits to share with a friend.
- Pro: Everything on Builder, plus early access to beta features.
- Elite: Everything on Pro, plus premium support. The top of the published ladder.
- Enterprise: Priced on request. The pricing page gives no figures.
Base44 is Wix-owned: the footer of its own site reads “© 2026 Wix.com Ltd. All rights reserved.”
Why you see $16 in one place and $20 in another
The prices on Base44's pricing page are annual-billing rates.
$16, $40, $80 and $160 are what each plan costs per month when you pay for a year up front. Paying month to month, the same plans are $20, $50, $100 and $200.
That difference is the 20% saving the pricing page advertises for yearly billing. It is also why a headline $16 set beside another builder's month-to-month price overstates the gap: compare monthly with monthly, or annual with annual.
Message credits and integration credits
Base44 bills in two kinds of credit, kept as two separate balances.
Message credits are spent while you build: prompts that plan, update or fix parts of your app.
Integration credits are spent by your app when it uses Base44's own built-in services — sending an email, generating an image, running an LLM call, or using an in-app agent.
The two are tracked separately, so one cannot stand in for the other: a surplus of one does not cover a shortfall in the other. Calls your app makes to an outside service with your own API key use no integration credits at all.
One thing costs neither kind of credit: Google Ads. Base44's own answer is “No. Generating assets for a Google Ads campaign does not use message credits or integration credits.”
Campaigns are billed outside your subscription instead. Base44 charges you for estimated ad clicks from the current billing cycle plus a “15% Base44 service fee”, and any ad credits from Google apply to those charges only — they are separate from your message and integration credits.
If you are weighing Base44 against Lovable, our comparison of Lovable and Base44 sets the two models side by side.
What a single action costs
Base44 publishes all of these as estimates, based on standard models and average complexity. Real usage varies.
Message credits, while you build:
- A simple visual or text change: about 0.5 credits.
- Improving a small feature: about 1 credit.
- Adding a complex module: about 2 credits.
- A large-scale or app-wide change: about 3–4 credits.
- A message in discuss mode: about 0.3 credits.
Integration credits, while your app runs:
- Sending an email: about 1 credit, or about 2 from a custom domain.
- Generating an image: about 1 credit.
- Generating video: about 5 credits per second.
- Generating speech: about 1 credit per 50 characters, up to about 100 a call.
- An LLM call: about 1 credit on the Automatic model, about 5 on Gemini 3 Flash, about 15 on GPT-5.4.
- An in-app agent: from about 3 credits a message on the Automatic model.
- Workflows: about 1 credit per 10 steps. Backend functions: about 1 credit per 100 invocations.
- Push notifications, file uploads and extracting data from a file: about 1 credit each.
What a message costs depends on the model
What a message costs is not fixed. It depends on the model that runs it.
- Auto mode is the default: Base44 picks the model for each request.
- Choosing a model yourself needs a Builder plan or higher — the “AI model select” line on the plan cards.
- In Base44's words: “When you choose a model manually, credit usage varies by model and may use more credits than Auto mode.”
- Their credits page puts it from the other side: the exact number “is worked out after each message runs and can vary depending on a number of factors, including the work involved and the model you are using.”
Is Base44 free?
Yes. Base44 has a $0 plan that renews every month, and its pricing page calls it “All of Base44's core features, for free.”
- The free plan card lists 25 message credits and 100 integration credits a month, up to 5 apps, and “Authentication, database functionality, analytics.”
- Base44 says you can finish something on it: “The Free plan is a full free AI app maker with every core feature, and you can ship complete apps on it.”
- Apps on the free plan are public. Base44's own answer to whether you can create private apps on it: “No. On the Free plan, you can only build public apps.”
- Connecting your own domain is listed on every paid plan, from Starter up. Base44's billing docs list 'Remove the Base44 platform badge from your app' on the Starter plan; the Builder, Pro and Elite lists do not repeat it.
The free plan's real limits
The free plan renews every month, but it is metered daily as well as monthly.
- 25 message credits a month, and no more than 5 of them in a single day — so the monthly allowance takes at least five days to use.
- 100 integration credits a month for what your app does with Base44's services.
- Up to 5 apps.
- The daily allowance resets at midnight in the workspace owner's local timezone. If the workspace has no recorded timezone, or you are not its owner, it resets at midnight UTC instead.
- Custom domains start at the paid Starter plan.
Daily credit limits
The free plan has a published daily limit: up to 5 credits a day, within its 25 a month.
- Base44 describes what happens at the daily limit: “features that require credits are unavailable until your daily balance resets, as long as you still have monthly credits left.”
- Paid plans are described only by their monthly reset: message and integration credits reset on the same day of the month you subscribed.
- Your workspace's credit usage page has a daily usage chart, with separate tabs for message and integration credits.
Daily limit on paid plans: not publicly stated (as of 21 September 2026)
What happens when credits run out
The two balances fail differently, and one of them fails in front of your users.
- Out of message credits: you cannot send new messages in the AI chat until you have credits again. The chat shows your remaining balance and offers a way to get more.
- Out of integration credits: Base44 emails you, and any action that needs them fails with an error saying you have used them all.
- Your app's own users see less than you do: when one of them triggers an action that needs integration credits, they get a generic error message with no reference to integration credits.
When credits reset, and what expires
- Unused credits expire at the end of each cycle. Nothing carries over to the next month.
- Paid plans reset monthly on your reset date — the same day of the month you subscribed, at the time you bought it, measured in UTC.
- The free plan's daily allowance runs on its own clock, described above.
What hosting costs after the build
Hosting is built in, and Base44 says there are no hidden fees beyond the plan price. What a live app does spend is integration credits.
- Base44's answer to how apps are deployed: “Base44 comes with built-in hosting — when your app is ready, it's instantly live and shareable. No deployment process, no setup.”
- On fees beyond the plan price, their pricing page says: “No hidden fees. Your plan covers monthly credits, included integrations, and the support level for your tier.” Third-party services you connect to your app, such as Stripe or OpenAI, bill you directly.
- A running app uses integration credits whenever it calls one of Base44's built-in services — an email, an image, an LLM call, a workflow step. Reading and writing your app's database does not: “Standard database operations are included at no extra credit cost.”
- Stopping payment does not take your apps offline. Cancelling downgrades the workspace to the free plan at the end of the billing period, with “a maximum of 5 apps. Your apps stay live, but you may lose access to features that are only available on paid plans.”
Top-ups
You can buy more credits mid-cycle.
- Their pricing page says: “If you run out of credits before the cycle resets, you can top up at any time.”
- Not on the free plan. Base44's top-up doc: “You need an active paid plan to purchase and use top-ups.” The same page also says: “This feature is not open to all users.”
Top-up price: not publicly stated (as of 21 September 2026)
Easy to miss
- Comparing two models runs your message twice: “Comparing builds your message twice, so it uses 2× credits.” Comparing needs a Builder plan or higher, the same as choosing a model.
- The free first-year domain is for yearly billing only. Base44's billing docs: “You have to have a yearly plan to get the free domain, it is not available on the monthly plan.”
- Backend functions are not on every plan. Base44's plans doc: “Backend functions are available on the Builder plan and higher, and they are part of the usage model.”
Common questions about Base44's pricing
How much does Base44 cost per month?
There is a free plan. Paid plans run from Starter at $20 a month paid month to month — $16 a month if you pay for a year — up to Elite at $200 a month, or $160 a month billed annually. Enterprise pricing is not published.
Is Base44 free?
Yes. The free plan renews monthly with 25 message credits, no more than 5 of them a day, plus 100 integration credits and up to 5 apps.
What is the difference between message credits and integration credits?
Message credits pay for building — prompts that plan, update or fix your app. Integration credits pay for what the finished app does with Base44's services, such as emails, images, LLM calls and in-app agents. They are separate balances.
Do Base44 credits roll over?
No. Unused credits expire at the end of each monthly cycle and do not carry over.
How much does it cost to buy extra Base44 credits?
Base44 says you can top up at any time. The price: not publicly stated (as of 21 September 2026)
What happens when you run out of Base44 credits?
Without message credits you cannot keep building until they return. Without integration credits, actions that need them fail, and users of your published app see a generic error that does not mention credits.
Is Base44 cheaper if you pay annually?
Yes, by 20%. Starter is $16 a month billed annually against $20 month to month, and the same ratio holds on every paid plan.
How many credits does one Base44 message use?
By Base44's own estimates, about 0.5 credits for a simple change, rising to about 3–4 for a large, app-wide one. A message in discuss mode is about 0.3.
For comparison: what Builddu costs
We make a competing product, so treat this section as what it is. It is here because if you are pricing Base44 you are probably pricing alternatives too.
Builddu charges $20 a month for 100 credits, $49 for 300 and $99 for 600, with top-ups at 100 credits for $19. An AI run is charged the credits it actually uses, rounded up, and publishing costs 1.
Builddu suits you better if
- You want to know what extra credits cost before you need them. Ours are published: 100 credits for $19.
Base44 suits you better if
- You want a free plan that renews every month. Base44's does; ours is a one-off grant of free credits.
- You want a finer price ladder. Base44 has four paid plans, from $16 to $160 a month billed annually; we have three tiers.
- You want an established product with the templates and community that come with one. We are small and new.
Sources
Everything above about Base44 was read from the pages listed here on the dates shown. Prices change, so weigh every figure here against the date beside the source it came from.
- https://base44.com/pricing — checked 2026-09-21
- https://base44.com/blog/how-much-does-base44-cost — checked 2026-09-21
- https://docs.base44.com/Account-and-billing/Credits — checked 2026-09-21
- https://docs.base44.com/Account-and-billing/Billing-and-plans — checked 2026-09-15
- https://docs.base44.com/promoting-your-app/google-ads-campaigns — checked 2026-09-21
- https://docs.base44.com/Building-your-app/AI-chat-modes — checked 2026-09-12
- https://base44.com — checked 2026-09-15
- https://docs.base44.com/documentation/account-and-billing/new-plans-and-workspaces — checked 2026-09-15
- https://docs.base44.com/Account-and-billing/credit-top-ups — checked 2026-09-15
If a figure here is out of date or wrong, tell us at support@builddu.com.
Base44 is a trademark of its owner. We name it for comparison and use no logos or branding of theirs.
For a side-by-side of Builddu and Base44, see Builddu vs Base44. More guides and comparisons.