How much does Bolt cost?
A guide by Builddu, which makes one of the builders covered. We are not affiliated with Bolt, Lovable or Base44. Checked against their own documentation on 21 September 2026.
The short answer
Bolt has a free plan, Pro and Teams, and a custom Enterprise tier. Both billing periods are shown per month, and each price says which one it is.
| Plan | Month to month | Billed yearly, per month | Tokens |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | 1M a month, capped at 300K a day |
| Pro | $25 a month | $18 a month, billed yearly | From 10M a month, with no daily limit |
| Teams | $30 per member a month | $27 per member a month, billed yearly | Everything in Pro, per the Teams card |
- Free: Public and private projects, website hosting, unlimited databases and up to 333k web requests. Sites carry Bolt branding, and file uploads are capped at 10MB.
- Pro: No daily token limit, and unused tokens roll over to the next month. No Bolt branding, private sharing of sites, custom domains, SEO boosting, expanded database capacity with a choice of provider, image editing with AI, 100MB uploads and up to 1M web requests.
- Teams: Everything in Pro, plus centralized billing, team-level access management, granular admin controls and user provisioning, sharing with your organization, private NPM registries and “Design System knowledge with per-package prompts”. The pricing page marks it “Popular”.
- Enterprise: Enterprise is listed as “Custom”, with no figures on the pricing page.
- Pro tiers above 10M tokens a month: not publicly stated (as of 21 September 2026)
Why “save up to 28%” is a Pro number
The pricing page's toggle reads “Save up to 28% with yearly billing”. That number is Pro's.
Pro goes from $25 a month to $18 a month billed yearly: 28% off. Teams goes from $30 to $27: 10% off.
The banner says “up to”, so it is not false. But a team on yearly billing saves about a third of what the headline suggests.
What a token buys, and what uses them up
Bolt bills in tokens, and its own docs are direct about where they go.
“Bolt consumes tokens when it reads, thinks about, and builds your project.”
“Most of your token usage comes from Bolt reading, understanding, and syncing your project files, so larger projects use more tokens per message.”
That second sentence is the one to plan around. On Bolt, the same request costs more as your project grows, because most of what you pay for is Bolt reading what you have already built.
Bolt's own FAQ answers “What are tokens?” with a link to Anthropic's glossary rather than a definition of Bolt's own unit.
The builders Bolt is usually weighed against do not use the same unit. Lovable meters building, hosting and your app's AI features in credits; Base44 splits message credits, spent while you build, from integration credits, spent by your app. Bolt bills raw tokens.
We do not convert between them. The three vendors define their units differently, and any exchange rate would be ours, not theirs.
How those credits are spent is set out in our breakdown of how Lovable’s credits work and our guide to Base44’s two kinds of credit.
The free plan's real limits
The free plan renews every month, and it is metered by the day as well as by the month.
- 1M tokens a month, with a separate daily cap of 300K.
- The daily cap resets every day and does not carry over. Bolt's own example: “if you don't use all 300K today, tomorrow you still start at 300K, not 600K.”
- Website hosting, unlimited databases and up to 333k web requests.
- Sites carry Bolt branding, and file uploads are capped at 10MB.
- Free-plan tokens reset on the 1st of each calendar month.
What happens when you run out
Running out of tokens stops Bolt working for you. It does not stop you working on your code.
- Hit the daily limit and you can still work by hand: “you can still make direct edits to your project's existing code for free in Code view, which doesn't use tokens.”
- Downgrade after using more than the free allowance and you wait for the next month. Bolt's own example: “if you've used 3 million tokens in July and downgrade to the free plan (1 million token limit), you'll need to wait until August 1 to continue working on your projects.”
- On the Pro plans that allow it, you can buy more instead — see reloads, below.
Resets, rollover and expiry
- Free plan: tokens reset on the 1st of each calendar month, and the 300K daily cap resets every day.
- Paid plans: tokens reset on your renewal date. Bolt's example: “If you subscribed to a paid plan on July 15, your tokens will reset on the 15th of every month thereafter.”
- Rollover: “any unused tokens from your monthly allocation roll over and stay valid for two months from the start of the billing cycle in which you received them.” The pricing page's FAQ puts the same rule as tokens that “roll over for one additional month” — the cycle you received them in, plus one more. The two phrasings agree.
- Reload tokens do not expire: “Any tokens purchased as a reload do not expire.”
Reloads, and who can buy them
You can buy more tokens, but only on some Pro plans.
- Reloads are available “If you're subscribed to the highest individual monthly Pro plan or to any annual Pro plan”.
- “Any tokens purchased as a reload do not expire.”
- Bolt says the price “varies based on your plan”, and that “You'll see the cost for your plan when you go to reload tokens.”
Reload price: not publicly stated (as of 21 September 2026)
Common questions about Bolt's pricing
How much does Bolt cost per month?
There is a free plan. Pro is $25 a month billed monthly, or $18 a month billed yearly, starting at 10M tokens a month. Teams is $30 per member a month billed monthly, or $27 per member a month, billed yearly. Enterprise is listed as “Custom”. Pro tiers above 10M tokens a month: not publicly stated (as of 21 September 2026)
Is Bolt free?
Yes. The free plan gives 1M tokens a month with a separate daily cap of 300K, website hosting and unlimited databases. Sites carry Bolt branding, and uploads are capped at 10MB.
What is a token on Bolt?
Bolt says it “consumes tokens when it reads, thinks about, and builds your project.” Its FAQ answers the question with a link to Anthropic's glossary rather than a definition of Bolt's own unit.
Why does Bolt use more tokens as my project grows?
Because most of the cost is reading it: “Most of your token usage comes from Bolt reading, understanding, and syncing your project files, so larger projects use more tokens per message.”
Do Bolt tokens roll over?
On paid plans, yes: unused monthly tokens stay valid for two months from the start of the billing cycle in which you received them. The free plan's daily tokens do not carry over, and reload tokens do not expire.
Can I buy more Bolt tokens?
Only on the highest individual monthly Pro plan or on any annual Pro plan, and reload tokens do not expire. The price: not publicly stated (as of 21 September 2026)
What happens when I hit Bolt's daily token limit?
You can still make direct edits to your project's existing code for free in Code view, which doesn't use tokens.
Is Bolt cheaper if I pay yearly?
Yes: 28% on Pro, from $25 to $18 a month, and 10% on Teams, from $30 to $27. The “up to 28%” headline is the Pro figure.
For comparison: what Builddu costs
We make a competing product, so treat this section as what it is. It is here because if you are pricing Bolt you are probably pricing alternatives too.
Builddu charges $20 a month for 100 credits, $49 for 300 and $99 for 600, with top-ups at 100 credits for $19. An AI run is charged the credits it actually uses, rounded up, and publishing costs 1.
Bolt suits you better if
- You want a free plan that renews: 1M tokens a month and 300K a day. Ours is a one-off grant of free credits.
- You want to edit code by hand without spending your allowance: Code view does not use tokens.
- You need team administration — centralized billing, admin controls and user provisioning are on Bolt's Teams plan.
Builddu suits you better if
- You want to know what extra capacity costs before you need it. Our top-ups are published: 100 credits for $19.
Sources
Everything above about Bolt, Lovable and Base44 was read from the pages listed here on the dates shown. Prices change, so weigh every figure here against the date beside the source it came from.
- https://bolt.new/pricing — checked 2026-09-21
- https://support.bolt.new/account-and-subscription/tokens — checked 2026-09-21
- https://docs.lovable.dev/introduction/plans-and-credits — checked 2026-09-11
- https://docs.base44.com/Account-and-billing/Credits — checked 2026-09-11
If a figure here is out of date or wrong, tell us at support@builddu.com.
Bolt, Lovable and Base44 are trademarks of their owners. We name them for comparison and use no logos or branding of theirs.
For a side-by-side of Builddu and Lovable, see Builddu vs Lovable. For a side-by-side of Builddu and Bolt, see Builddu vs Bolt. For a side-by-side of Builddu and Base44, see Builddu vs Base44. More guides and comparisons.